IPads at Port Elliot

As the ICT-Rich Pedagogy Coordinator at Port Elliot Primary School on of my roles is to assist and support teachers in connecting with new technology and helping them to engage students in their learning through technology.

This year we have started to use Ipad devices as a tool for assisting students’ learning.  It has been a steep learning curve and I am sure that we are only a part of the way on the journey.  We began the year with one IPad that was used in our “Shack” by our Special Needs team and since then we have increased our school owned IPads to 14.  A number of teachers have also purchased IPads for themselves since the beginning of the year and are using these in their classrooms.

We are learning on the go and are still working out what works best in terms of purchasing apps, syncing, sharing them across the whole school and the best way to use them in class with students.

In my class I have been trialling a Bring Your Own Device program.  Students are allowed to bring in and use their IPads and Ipods (with parent’s permission).  This has also had some issues such as do we let them use the school’s wi-fi (at the moment – yes), how do we keep them safe (we lock them in the filing cabinet at recess and lunch) and  how do we make sure students are using them sensibly and safely (constant supervision by teacher).

Last night I offered training to our staff on how to use their IPads and was surprised with the turn-out (I think I had 12 teachers at one stage).  I spent over an hour simply talking about what the different things in settings mean.  I am offering another one next week on the apps that come preloaded on the Ipad.

Staff are excited about where we can go with this new form of technology and how we can engage student’s in traditional learning but in a modern way. It is an exciting time to be in the classroom!

I have been asked by teachers for a list of the apps that I use in my classroom and I thought that this might be a good things to add to my blog.  If you would like to see the apps that we are “playing with” click on the Ipads page above.  Please feel free to leave a comment about the apps, suggest an app that you use or share a way that you use one of the apps that I have listed.  I would love to hear about it.

Until next time,

Kathy @kathturley

This entry was posted in Coordinator, ICT, Ipads, Kathy Turley. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

